top of page





Thomas Voss is a trombonist, composer/arranger and educator based in Adelaide, Australia.


He performs regularly with a variety of local acts, ranging from small jazz, salsa and blues groups, through to musical theatre productions, big bands and orchestras. Thomas has also performed onstage with internationally recognised artists including Emma Pask, Will Vinson and Vince Jones.


Thomas also leads a number of his own projects, including his own big band, which in 2019 released its debut album: The Thomas Voss/Lauren Henderson Big Band: Live at Wizard Tone. He also received first place in the International Trombone Association’s 2017 Carl Fontana Jazz Competition, the first Australian to win that award, and successfully auditioned for the lead trombone chair in the 2020/21 Australian National Youth Jazz Orchestra.


Thomas’ compositions and arrangements have been performed and recorded by a number of artists, including the Mike Stewart Big Band, The BordererS and Amity Dry. Thomas also writes for school ensembles of all levels, including set pieces for Generations in Jazz and ABODA SA. In 2019 he was also the Composer-in-Residence for the JazzSA Superbands, and is currently the co-ordinator for the program. Thomas was also selected as the WA Youth Jazz Orchestra's 2022 Composer-in-Residence, and was a nominee for the 2022 Freedman Jazz Fellowship.


Thomas teaches instrumental students and ensembles of all levels, and can be contacted for lessons (in person or online) using the form below.





L I V E   A T   W I Z A R D   T O N E

Featuring acclaimed vocalist Lauren Henderson, and recorded in front of a live audience at Wizard Tone Studios, Adelaide, this is the debut album for trombonist and composer/arranger Thomas Voss.

Vocals: Lauren Henderson

Saxes/Woodwinds: Alex Musolino, Jack Degenhart, Alex Ioakim, Christina Guala, Dusty Cox

Trumpets: Sean Helps, Sam Hicks, Josh Chenoweth, Chris Bickley

Trombones: Thomas Voss, Alex Taylor, Aaron Deanshaw, Cassandra Pope

Rhythm: Alex Wignall (Piano), Django Rowe (Guitar), Bonnie Aue (Bass), Sam Millar (Drums)

Recording/Engineering: James Brown, Tom Barnes
Mastering: Jarrad Payne

Album Artwork Design: Sammy Kruckemeyer (Bigmouth Designs)

Recorded live at Wizard Tone Studios on August 18th, 2018



Thanks for getting in touch.

Join the mailing list

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page